Most Anticipated Movies of 2013

Now that my list of the best films of 2012 is done, here’s my most anticipated of 2013. These aren’t necessarily the movies that will be swarming the awards season come the end of the year, but they’re the movies I’m most excited for currently. I’m looking forward to revisiting this list at the end of the year to see which of these (hopefully) lived up to expectations.

Honorable Mention: After Earth Okay, hear me out. I know it’s M. Night Shya-what’s-his-name. I know it stars mini-Will Smith. I know it’s basically Planet of the Apes minus the apes. I know this movie will most likely suck. But here’s my main reason for anticipating this movie: Will Smith. Will fucking Smith. You know that Men in Black III, released in 2012, was his first movie since Seven Pounds? SEVEN POUNDS. That came out in 2008. That’s four years before a Will Smith-starring movie. I am convinced that the only reason the world didn’t end in 2012 was because Will Smith was finally in a movie again, even if it was Men in Black III.

Image

10. The Hunger Games: Catching Fire I have yet to finish the book. In fact, I’m only on page 30, but I’ve got time. I read the first book, though, and saw the first movie, and liked them, so I guess that makes me a fan. I’d rather be a fan of a book series about a battle to the death than one about sparkling vampires and werewolves that fall in love with babies. Oh, not to mention that new movie that looks like Twilight for witches. Seriously, what is up with all these “young adult” book series getting made into shitty movies? May The Hunger Games be ever in our favor.

Image

9. The Lone Ranger Despite the fact that the movie faced budget issues due to a need for…werewolves, I think it was (?) early on in production, and the fact that Tonto is going white-faced to hide the fact that Johnny Depp is playing him, I’m anticipating this flick because my dad’s a fan of the character and therefore, I’m familiar with the source material and I want it to be good.

Image

8. Kick-Ass 2 The first film was one of my favorite movies of 2010 and the fact that a sequel is getting made with the same cast is pretty exciting. If Matthew Vaughn was returning to direct, it would be higher on the list. Sadly, he isn’t, but that doesn’t mean I’m not looking forward to it. He is, however, returning as producer, so there’s that. It doesn’t mean much, but it makes me feel better, so LAY OFF.

Image

7. Only God Forgives I don’t even know if this movie will get a wide release anywhere, but Nicolas Winding Refn and Ryan Gosling, the director/actor team that gave us the best film of 2011, Drive, are returning with this thriller that Refn describes as similar to a “western” with a western-type hero. The plot is kind of similar to Drive in that Gosling is getting revenge against people again and there’s a drug smuggling operation. Other than that, I don’t really know much. I didn’t know anything about Drive either and I fucking loved that movie. If the picture below is any indication, prepare to see Gosling get the shit beat out of him.

Image

6. The Great Gatsby The first trailer used a song from Watch The Throne. That’s more than enough reason to look forward to it. But seriously, this looks like nothing anyone expected from a film adaptation of this classic novel, and to me, that’s all the more reason to look forward to it. When you add in the fact that Leonardo DiCaprio is playing the title character, and you may have a hit on your hands. And if it’s not a hit, then, well, fuck it, read the book.

Image

5. Pacific Rim Guilermo Del Toro is making a giant alien monsters vs. giant robots movie. That’s plenty of reason to be excited. This is the closest thing we’ll get to a Godzilla movie for…oh…they’re remaking Godzilla?…well, anyway, this movie is gonna rock my socks off, or at least I hope it does. Not to mention Idris Elba is in it (the only black guy in the Thor movie) and he’s bad ass.

Image

4. Iron Man 3 Remember how everyone went ape shit over the first Iron Man? People even went so far as to say it was better than The Dark Knight (which, okay, whatever floats your boat). And then Iron Man 2 came out and people weren’t really into Iron Man anymore and it was all about Captain America and Thor. And then The Avengers came out and it was all about Iron Man again and, gasp, the Hulk. Well it seems to be all about just Iron Man again due to a change in director and a more “serious” tone for the third movie. And Ben Kingsley and Guy Pierce are the villains. So…fuck yes?

Image

3. Star Trek Into Darkness The first Star Trek was entertaining and ushered in a new generation of fans. The sequel looks like it’ll follow the same pattern as sequels like The Dark Knight and Empire Strikes Back in that it’s more “dark” and “everything about the first, but better.” It better be dark, or I’ll ask for my money back. Because that will mean a very misleading title. We all know “dark” is all the rage nowadays anyway. That’s why Django Unchained is such a hit, after all.

Image

2. Elysium  Neil Blomkamp’s first film since District 9, which is probably my favorite movie of 2009. If he can capture the same creativity he did with that movie and infuse it into this, it’s already a classic. I have no knowledge of it save for a very brief and basic plot summary and I’d like to keep it like that.

Image

1. Man of Steel This movie better be fucking good or I’m done. That is all.

Image

Leave a Reply

